Can You Recover a Deleted Discord Server?

A lot of work and effort goes into the development of a dedicated Discord server. Owners create a layout that is ideal for them and their connections, add rules and regulations, create roles, add bots, and so much more. It can take people days to develop a functional server and some keep working on it actively even when the server is live. 

Unfortunately, it is rather easy to delete an entire server, even by accident. As you can see from the images below, the option to delete the server is at the very bottom of the Server Overview section. 

Desktop browser app

The moment you click on the ‘Delete Server’ option, a dialogue box will pop up. You need to enter the server name and confirm that you wish to delete it. This makes it slightly more difficult to delete it but some owners do end up doing it and regretting their decision. 

Server owners can implement the 2FA authentication to make deletion a little more difficult. 

Unfortunately, you can’t recover a deleted server. All of the information and content in the server is lost once you confirm the deletion. This was confirmed by the official Discord account on Twitter. 

How Can I Prevent This?

There are two ways to avoid deleting your server and all of the hard work you put into it. You can either transfer ownership of the server to someone else or simply leave. This allows you to shed the responsibility and move on from the server’s community. 

The second way is to create a template for your server. This allows you to copy the layout of your existing server down to the roles, channels, and categories perfectly. You can create a new server and then delete the old one if necessary. You can also send out invites to all members to get them on the new server.

It is also important to ensure you share ‘Admin’ access only with people you trust to avoid accidents or sabotage. 

How to Transfer Ownership?

  • Open your Discord browser app. 
  • Select the drop-down menu next to the server name. 
  • Select Server Settings. 
  • Scroll down to find ‘Members’ under the User Management section. 
  • choose a trusted server member like an experienced moderator and transfer ownership to them.
  • Select the three dots visible to the right of the member’s name.
  • A dropdown menu will appear. 
  • Select Transfer Ownership. 

Once you transfer ownership, you can then easily leave the server and let someone else manage it, which is a safe alternative to complete deletion. 

How to Create a Template?

  • Open your Discord browser app. 
  • Click on the server you wish to copy. (You need to be the server owner to do this.)
  • Select the drop-down menu next to the server name. 
  • Click on Server Settings. 
  • Select the Server Template option in the Server Settings. 
  • Add the details for your new server like name, description, etc. 
  • Preview it to ensure everything is in order. 
  • Select ‘Create’ once you are satisfied with the layout. 
  • The new server will show up on your list of servers. 

Making a template ensures you don’t need to create a new server from scratch, which is a very time-consuming process. 

Avoid deleting a server but if it happens, you can build the community back with some effort. Discord doesn’t allow users to revive their deleted servers but nothing stops you from creating a brand new one. In fact, your new server may turn out to be better than the old one!

Related information

Related Posts

View More Posts

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here